Nominations are now open for the biennial Randwick City Council Architecture and Urban Design awards, which recognise excellence in the architecture and design of buildings within our community.

“Good urban design influences how people perceive and use their environment,” stated Randwick Mayor Danny Said. “As our City grows and develops the importance of clever design and eye-catching architecture will ensure that buildings, open space and infrastructure work together to create a healthy, integrated and responsive environment that meets the needs of our residents.”

Each year, three independent expert judges assess the entries, select the finalists in each category and ultimately decide the winners. The 2020 judges are:

Tanya Vincent, Associate Director of Strategic Urban Design & Place, Transport for NSW
Associate Professor Paul Jones, Urban and Regional Planning Program, Sydney School of Architecture, Design and Planning, The University of Sydney  Dr Sue Rosen, Sue Rosen Associates, Heritage Consultants

There are 7 Award categories in the Randwick City Architecture and Urban Design Awards. 5 Design categories and 2 special categories:

Best House
Best Apartment
Best Alteration or Renovation
Best Conservation Project
Best Urban Project – This category applies to:
Projects of a commercial, institutional or public nature, or
Projects comprising of private and communal open space
People’s Choice Award – This comprises all projects from all categories and members of the public select their favourite via open vote.

The Hi-Vis Prize – Randwick City Council outdoor staff will vote for their favourite entry.
All entries will be put on public display for a People’s Choice Award. Voting for the People’s Choice Award will be open to any member of the public. Votes can be made through Council’s website or by mail from Sun, Sept 20 to Tues Oct 20, 2020.

Entering the Awards
Entry is open to Registered Architects, Landscape Architects and/or Qualified Urban Designers, who have an approved project within the City of Randwick LGA that has been completed in the past five years. Nominations are open until Thursday 20 August and can be found here.

The 2020 Awards presentation night will be held on Thurs, Oct 29 at the Prince Henry Centre, Little Bay.